New Kosovo PM Assumes Post

Prishtina, Dec 6, 2004 – Ramush Haradinaj took over the Office of Kosova Prime Minister today at an official ceremony in Prishtina. His election in the post of the Prime Minister and the formation of the new government follows a coalition deal between LDK and AAK. According to this deal the Kosovo Parliament reelected last week Ibrahim Rugova in the post of the President, same as Nexhat Daci in the post of Parliament Speaker, whereas Ramush Haradinaj was elected in the post of Prime Minister.

The members of the new PM’s Cabinet are: Adem Salihaj, Deputy-Prime Minister. Minister on Local Government was elected Lutfi Haziri, Minister of Education, Science and Technology – Agim Veliu, Minister of Finance and Economy – Haki Shatri, Minister of Public Services – Melihate Termkolli, Minister of Culture and Sports- Astrit Haracia, Minister of Telecommunications – Qemajl Ahmeti, Minister of Trade and Industry – Bujar Dugolli, Minister of Environment and Spatial Planning – Bajram Kosumi, Minister of Energy – Ethem Ceku, Minister of Labor and Social Welfare – Ahmet Isufi, Minister of Health – Sadik Idriz from Turkish Community. Whereas the Ministry on Returns and the Ministry of Agriculture were left to Serb community.

The Parliament Presidency includes Nexhat Daci and Fatmir Sejdiu from LDK, Rame Buja and Xhavit Haliti from PDK, Naim Maloku from AAK, Gazmend Muhaxhiri from ORA.