Kosovo Appoints First 10 Diplomatic Envoys

Prishtina – Kosovo President Fatmir Sejdiu Tuesday appointed the newly independent state’s first 10 diplomatic envoys to mainly Western capitals that have recognized its statehood.

Kosovo will be represented in Albania, Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Switzerland, Turkey, the U.K. and the U.S. by charges d’affaires who will later become ambassadors, said Sejdiu.

“All these countries have expressed readiness to development diplomatic relations (with Kosovo) at the embassy level and it was a big encouragement for us,” he said.

Some capitals, including Berlin, London and Washington, have already named their first ambassadors to Kosovo, and other countries among the 46 that have recognized its independence will follow soon.